Sweetly lived ramble of yesteryear

I am so very excited to share a poem I wrote in 2005 while blogging on Xanga.  I’ve always enjoyed writing poetry and have a nice collection of journals from my teen years where I would write all the time.  This poem, however, is my most favorite.  I have feared for years now that it was lost because I hadn’t touched Xanga since 2006.  (My blogging on Xanga was more of an online ranting journal. I also spent some time on Livejournal which hosted rants similar rants.)  Thankfully after a bit of searching and learning to use quotations in the search box, I found it!  *happy dance*

I hope you enjoy it.

Bittersweet secrets overcome these lips;
beatings of my heart, which are so intense.
Lightly crashing waves rushing to my sides;
heavy rays of sun masking my hearts cries.
Feelings of being found and then being lost;
holding onto memories hung on my life’s cross.
Silence are my words as screams are my soul;
life can pass me by but I’ll never let go.

 

 

14 Comments

  1. Brandina said,

    October 10, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Beautiful poem hun 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. October 11, 2011 at 4:21 am

    I loved your poem baby girl…but I have always enjoyed your writing. Can’t wait to read more…

  3. January 26, 2012 at 3:28 am

    Good poem!

  4. wayne said,

    January 26, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    An thoughtful poem with some nice meaning. Dropping by from Thirsty for Thursday!

  5. Deanna said,

    January 27, 2012 at 12:34 am

    Awesome poem! I have a whole notebook full of ones I have written. Just not sure what to do with them!

    • January 27, 2012 at 5:55 am

      I hear you on the notebooks! They are nice to reflect back on when I happen to stumble across them. The good thing about the notebooks is knowing I have the physical copy of it and I won’t happen to lose it in digital space. The bad part of it is I haven’t at least copied them to the digital world should anything happen to the physical copy. Haha. So perhaps you can start sharing yours as well?

  6. Angela said,

    January 27, 2012 at 3:46 am

    Really nice poem! Feelings of the heart can make us very joyfully and the next minute knock us down, making us unsure if we can ever get up again. Thanks for sharing & I look forward to reading more from you! 🙂

    • January 27, 2012 at 5:58 am

      Yes, I have many that are exploding with the joys of love and sadly ones that are tear-stained from the heartbreak love can bring. Reading past writings of mine reminds me of how passionate I was about the topic and truth be told, I miss that fire. Thankfully I have three little boys who have filled my heart with the real deal and its grounded. 🙂 Maybe one day my heart will find these songs again. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Bertha said,

    January 27, 2012 at 4:34 am

    Very nice poem. Im glad you found it and shared with us.

  8. Heather McD said,

    January 27, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    Beautiful poem. I enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

  9. January 31, 2012 at 10:27 pm

    Beautiful poem – isn’t it great to be able to reminisce and find a piece of ourselves in a poem, photo or piece of artwork that still invokes something for us!


Leave a Reply

