Goin Natural…

Wow have I got an update to share with you!

I’ve moved to California.  Yep, that’s right.  The Golden-Sunshine state.  Yeah, I realize that Florida is the actual sunshine state.  However, with being a Texas gal who is accustomed to overcast, cold, crappy days during this time of year… I am in the Golden-Sunshine state.  Been out here for a couple months now and its gorgeous.  This place completely fits my personality.  I enjoy living a green lifestyle, hey… I’m surrounded by people who want the same.  There are so many different places in the surrounding areas to get my hands on green-products; so rather than walking into the dead wanna-be whole foods store near my hometown in Texas and buying products that look like they’ve been sitting on the shelf since the day the store opened, I am able to walk into places that are busy and packed with fellow green lovers that I can have wonderfully green conversation with.

Since being out here I’ve taken on a couple new steps.  One that I’ve actually started dabbling with and one that will begin as soon as I receive my Omega juicer.  Ohhh yeah.  J  So first things first… I’ve started dabbling in natural home remedies.  My first challenge:  The hideous seed wart that planted itself on my 4-yr old’s forehead which had come back with a vengeance after it was unsuccessfully removed the first time using medicinal poison.  The treatment?  Fresh garlic at night and fresh lemon juice during the day.

It was real simple and only took 1 week to get results!!  After my son fell asleep at night I would overlap a freshly cut, thin sliver of garlic on the wart and secure it with a bandage.  The next morning he would wake and remove.  In the morning I would cut a slice of lemon and throughout the day I’d swirl my finger in the flesh of the lemon and rub the juice on the wart.  I repeated both steps daily.  It was really interesting because for the first 3 days I wasn’t sure if it would actually work.  It would seem as though the wart would get smaller but then it seemed to bounce right back to size as the day progressed.  After day four though… it started becoming scab-like and hard.  On the 5th day it was a dark red color and clearly agitated.  I kept up with a vengeance of my own to rid him of the little monster.  The 6th day came… it was there in the morning but by the afternoon my son came up to me complaining that his forehead was bleeding.  J  The wart had completely fallen off.  It grossed me out to think of a shriveled wart lying somewhere nearby, but I felt victorious in my new pursuit of home remedies.  Granted, my next step was slightly backwards (I slathered some Neosporin on it to speed the healing process and reduce the possibility of scarring) but I’m none the less continuing to move forward in my new-true to the green lifestyle.  Day by day right?  J  Next goal?  Try some natural remedies in changing the diet of my children to tackle ADD, digestive issues, and eczema.  J  As soon as I get my juicer in the mail I will be posting my journey.  Until then, I’m free flying – Cali style.

3 Comments

  1. pinkoddy said,

    February 9, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    I’m so glad you are happier now you’ve moved. Sounds great. I’m definitely going to try that method to remove warts if the need ever arises. Thanks for sharing 🙂 Good luck with the rest of your natural remedies.

  2. SuddenlySusan said,

    February 10, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    You’re gonna love California! Yeah, I moved from Alaska to Arizona and now live in Washington. We are totally into recycling here in “the evergreen state”. Love the wart remedy! I’ll be passing that one on.

    Haven’t seen you post in a while and I wondered where you went.

  3. Wayne said,

    February 10, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Your post reminded me of the old Led Zepplin tune – Going back to California – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cfc3rCQOuU&ob=av3e


Leave a Reply

