Squeezed to the Pulp (part 1)

I finally got my Omega 8006 Nutrition Center Juicer.  I’ve got to admit that I’ve been having a lot of fun with it since I’ve pulled it out of the box.  My kids probably think I’ve gone absolutely crazy, but that’s fine.  I have the satisfaction of slipping in nutritious goodness whenever I please without them really noticing.

My original reasons for buying a juicer was because of my 4yr old Oat. Since being weened from the bottle he has had countless digestive issues.  I believe these issues have led to his growth into being a very picky eater.  I’ve gotten to a point where I actually am concerned for his health because all he wants to eat is bread, cereal, and cheese. Its a lucky day if I can get him to eat meat or vegetables.  Heck, this kid doesn’t even like cookies.

My next reason is for my two older children Zavi, 9; and Eli, 6.  Zavi was diagnosed with ADD when he started Kindergarten.  After exhausted attempts of trying to discipline him into being controlled and focused at school I caved and allowed him to be medicated.  This only lasted a couple of months and I took him off of it because quite frankly, I don’t like drugging my kid.  Eli has yet to receive an official diagnosis but I’m very confident he would be pegged as the hyper ADD type of child.  After doing a little research I’ve learned that removing/replacing certain foods in their diet could help the “unwanted” symptoms of ADD.

The cherry on the sundae is the health benefits for me. First off, it seems that after I hit 25 I reentered puberty because acne has made a full swing back at me an its been hell trying to fight it off. A friend of mine told me that juicing helped her acne clear up so why not?  At least if it doesn’t I’ll still have a healthier lifestyle with more natural energy to keep up with my rugrats.

My first recipe?

Robot Juice
1/2 c baby carrots
handful baby spinach
2 gala apples
1 bosc pear

Just experimenting for now but so far it hasn’t been too difficult getting the boys to drink my creations.  The taste is sweet and not recognizable as spinach, but it does get the green color.  The only resistance I met is because of it looking different.  I figure the more I can get them to down, the faster they’ll acquire a taste and be begging me for their next glass.  That’s my hope at least.  Haha.

Until next time… I’ll be free flying Cali style.

4 Comments

  1. Brandina said,

    February 1, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    I agree, any changes that you can make now to improve your lifestyle, however small, is good. Even if it doesn’t cure those ailments that originally brought you to make those changes, other great things can still come from it. Plus, you’ll be instilling great lifestyle habits in your little ones that will stay with them for many years, without even having to push them on it after a little while.

  2. Wayne said,

    February 2, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    Good luck with the changes in lifestyle: I am sure it will lead many ‘juicy’ tales. Thanks for featuring me on Thirsty for Thursday.

  3. Heather McD said,

    February 2, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    I am glad the new lifestyle seems to be working out for you and your children. It sounds like a really good idea. I’ve visiting from Thirsty Thursday.

  4. February 3, 2012 at 1:24 am

    I was watching a special on doctors that were treating children with ADHD with food and not medicine. These children and parents were so happy. They introduced healthier foods, veggie’s #1 to there children and other things healthy and their concentration and other things improved greatly. This is a wonderful things you are doing. When my son was little they also diagnosed his with HDHD and after a few months I took him off the medicine. He wasn’t the same child while on it. He was too quiet and not active. He is 22 today and doing great! I would love a juicer and then I could whip me up some of that green juice you drinking! 🙂


Leave a Reply

